• Home
  • RV Chaudhari to receive Higuchi Achievement Award

RV Chaudhari to receive Higuchi Achievement Award

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Four faculty members at two Kansas universities have been named recipients of the Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards, the state's most prestigious recognition for scholarly excellence, and one of CPE’s own, Deane E Ackers Distinguished Professor RV Chaudhari will be one of them. He will be the recipient of the Irvin E. Youngberg Award in Applied Sciences. Prof. Chaudhari is currently the Deputy Director of the Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis.

The four winners will be recognized at a Nov. 29 ceremony featuring remarks from Chancellor Douglas A. Girod. Past Higuchi Award recipients who attend also will be recognized at the ceremony. This is the 37th annual presentation of the awards, established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, a distinguished professor at KU from 1967 to 1983, and his wife, Aya. The awards recognize the exceptional long-term research accomplishments of faculty at Kansas Board of Regents universities. Each award includes a citation and a $10,000 award for ongoing research efforts. The money can be used for research materials, summer salaries, fellowship matching funds, hiring research assistants or other support related to research.

The other three award winners will be: Maryemma Graham, professor in the Department of English, KU, recipient of the Balfour S. Jeffrey Award in the Humanities and Social Sciences; Stephen Higgs, professor in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology, Kansas State University, recipient of the Dolph Simons Award in the Biomedical Sciences; and Ryszard Jankowiak, professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Physics, Kansas State University, recipient of the Olin K. Petefish Award in Basic Sciences.

For more information about the awards, visit the Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards webpage

Upcoming Events and Deadlines